Sports Awards 2023

07 Nov 2023

On Wednesday 25 October we held our annual Sport Awards Evening. As usual, it was a great night, with tickets all selling out! We celebrated the sporting year that was, announced MVP’s for our major codes, acknowledged our NZ Reps and our major trophies were awarded at the end of the night.

Huge thanks to the BDSC Kapa Haka group who opened our evening, with their beautiful waiata. It was a great way to get the night started.

Dave Letele (aka Brown Buttabean, former NRL player and Boxer) was our amazing guest speaker, who engaged with the audience and delivered a strong message around building resilience. He got us on our feet, encouraging audience participation while getting his point through to both students and adults alike.

A quick game of “Minute to Win it” got the crowd going again. Thanks to our contestants, Miss Byrne, Craig Besley, Jono Upoko and Nicky Maera who were “randomly” selected to participate and gave it their best…they weren’t competitive at all!!!!

Huge thank you to our coaches, managers, supporters and athletes that made 2023 a great sporting year at BDSC.

Congratulations to all our Sports award winners!

Major Award Winners

All Rounder Male of the Year: Ben Blundell 11S4
All Rounder Female of the Year: Angela Clark 12D3
Dedication to Rugby – Kyle Heath Trophy: Harlyn Saunoa 13E2
Dedication to Football – Mekellan Naidoo Trophy: Thomas Blakeman 12E2
Damian Peter Tiatia Memorial Cup: Cody Diffey 13B7
Student Volunteer of the Year: JR Padiclas 13B7, Terra Coutts 13K12
Supporter of the Year: Bruce and Vanessa Blundell
Personality of the Year: Ashley Fillet 11K12
Captain of the Year: Risha Prasad 13S10, Gary Basson 12K12
Manager of the Year: Vanessa Walter
Coach of the Year: Logan Fui, Rohit Prasad
Team of the Year: Touch-Premier Mixed

Most Valuable Players

Athletics: Noah Retford 12B1
Badminton Male: Tristan Apalisok 11S10
Badminton Female: Nishika Jain 13J5
Basketball Male: Michael Peacock 13J11
Basketball Female: Anita Cheng 12B7
Cricket: Aaryan Kewalramani 12E8
Football Male: Khavin Kannan 11D9
Football Female: Micaela Besley 10S4
Golf: Jordan Jones 13J11
Hockey Male: Jacob Lowe 12E2
Hockey Female: Riya Prasad 10S10
Netball: Jaira Fakaua 11E8
Rugby: Cody Diffey 13B7
Swimming: Kiri Yamagami 9J5
Table Tennis: Joshua Capper 13K12
Tennis: Keegan O’Reilly 11E2
Touch Male: PJ Field 12J11
Touch Female: Bailee McDowall 13S10
Volleyball Male: Vincent Ang 11J11
Volleyball Female: Amanda Phan 11K12

New Zealand Representatives

Aerobics: Tiffany Ong 11D9, Georgia Sole 11J11, Kate Sole 11J5, Amber Sue 12K6
Equestrian: Samantha Belsham 13D9
Ice Skating: Cara Tang 9K6
Sailing: Callum Hyde 9D3, Kate Rassmussen 10S4
Softball: Cori Batts 10J5
Touch: Ryan Collett 12J11, PJ Field 12J11, Deshontayne Te Wao 12E2


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Coming Soon

Sign up to receive our latest News & Events